Thursday’s Best Practice Food for Thought #11

This week, we’ve discussed

and

So, I’ll leave you with one final thought that seems unreasonable, until we realize it’s absolutely true:


Failure is sometimes the only path to success.

Sounds crazy, right? Well, let me ask you this.Success through Failure blog photo

Have you ever had a situation where if you hadn’t gone through a past failure, you’d never have been in position to succeed?

For me, the easiest example comes from my Oct. 22 blog. I’d relinquished total control of my life due to financial struggles and paid a terrible price by losing nearly all of my possessions to an ex-girlfriend and her family. In my mid 30’s, I was forced to start my life from near scratch. But what I realize now is that without this lowest point in my life, I’d never have returned to New Jersey, never had the opportunity to play summer beach volleyball with friends and subsequently never met my wife.

In the end, this awful experience was part of the journey I had to take to enjoy today’s success. In the end, although I couldn’t see it then, the dots connected.

*** The lesson here is that when you’re faced with adversity. When you think you’ve failed. When you’re out of ideas and hope for achieving your goals, you’re not defeated. You’re just on a different path toward success. ***

Make today better than yesterday, but not as great as tomorrow!


Chris Errington is a husband, dad, writer, seeker of truth and fervent believer in the power of utilizing best practices to live a more balanced and enjoyable life. When I’m not coaching Little League baseball, rooting for the Steelers and West Virginia University or desperately attempting to grow grass in the front/back yards, I’m working my plan to live my ultimate goal – Writing remotely from the deck of a 32-foot sloop while sailing throughout the Caribbean. Getting my wife to agree is another matter entirely.

– Follow me at:

Tsu: www.tsu.co/Chrissports

Twitter: @Tribunewriter

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/pub/chris-errington/6/aa3/553/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/chris.errington.564