Best Practice To Live By #13

Stressless Christmas blog photo

With Christmas just a day away, I wanted to take a moment to wish you and yours a happy holiday. I’ll take time away from college football bowl season to post again next week as we lead into 2015.

In the meantime, I wanted to leave you with this best practice that I learned several years ago while listening to National Public Radio.

“If you won’t remember this in a year, don’t worry about it now.”

In other words, like the book says, “Don’t sweat the small stuff.”

Far too often, we allow life’s minor annoyances to negatively dictate our immediate mental state. I’m definitely a case in point.

In those situations, remember to breathe and keep the issue’s impact in perspective. More often than not, you’ll be able to relax, complete whatever needs to be done to fix it and move on without negatively affecting your mood. In fact, it’s a good bet that within an hour, you won’t even think about it again.

There it is, short and sweet, but guaranteed to keep your blood pressure from skyrocketing during one of the most stressful times of the year.

Make today better than yesterday, but not as great as tomorrow!


Chris Errington is a husband, dad, writer, seeker of truth and fervent believer in the power of utilizing best practices to live a more balanced and enjoyable life. When I’m not coaching Little League baseball, rooting for the Steelers and West Virginia University or desperately attempting to grow grass in the front/back yards, I’m working my plan to live my ultimate goal – Writing remotely from the deck of a 32-foot sloop while sailing throughout the Caribbean. Getting my wife to agree is another matter entirely.

– Follow me at:

Tsu: www.tsu.co/Chrissports

Twitter: @Tribunewriter

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/pub/chris-errington/6/aa3/553/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/chris.errington.564