Positive Intent

I may never view Christmas like Buddy the Elf, but thanks to Positive Intent, it may not be as stressful as years past.

I may never view Christmas like Buddy the Elf, but thanks to Positive Intent, it may not be as stressful as years past.

For just about everyone, this truly is the “most wonderful time of the year.” For me, that means college football bowl season, because instead of “Merry Christmas,” my holidays have often more closely resembled “Merry Stressmas.”

The spending of money on gifts, the battling of shoppers in the stores, the dreaded gift wrapping … It’s enough for me to want to miss the entire experience.

Normally, by this time of year, I’m stressed to the max, irritable and have a short fuse for others. I’m hoping this Christmas will be different – thanks to a best practice my wife introduced me to over the weekend.

The school at which she teaches practices a form of psychology called:

Positive Intent.

Through this method, your objective is to introduce positive scenarios for incidents that would normally cause you stress.

For example, if a driver cuts you off in traffic, instead of allowing it to negatively impact your emotions and relations with others, you should assume the other person is desperately trying to reach a loved one in need. Or, if someone grabs the last toy your child desperately wants, assume their child is sick in the hospital and needs it much more than your’s does.

Is it hokie? Maybe a bit.

Does it take the edge off your stress levels? Even if only a bit, isn’t it more than worth the effort?

Give it a try the next time you feel stressed by situations often out of your control – whether it’s during the holiday season or not.

“It’s the most wonderful time of the year,” will always conjure time spent watching bowl games for me, but through using “Positive Intent,” maybe now I can start to enjoy a bit of the holiday season as well.

Make today better than yesterday, but not as great as tomorrow!


Chris Errington is a husband, dad, writer, seeker of truth and fervent believer in the power of utilizing best practices to live a more balanced and enjoyable life. When I’m not coaching Little League baseball, rooting for the Steelers and West Virginia University or desperately attempting to grow grass in the front/back yards, I’m working my plan to live my ultimate goal – Writing remotely from the deck of a 32-foot sloop while sailing throughout the Caribbean. Getting my wife to agree is another matter entirely.

– Follow me at:

Tsu: www.tsu.co/Chrissports

Twitter: @Tribunewriter

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/pub/chris-errington/6/aa3/553/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/chris.errington.564